The legal code can be extremely complicated for anyone without legal training and experience. When facing methamphetamine charges, it can be difficult to determine what the penalties might be for a conviction. In fact, many people have no idea how serious these charges actually are.

If you are facing charges of this kind, the Texas statutory language might be of little help, and you may be curious as to the potential penalties you may face. Understanding the charges associated with meth can help you move forward with your case and find strong representation.

What are the penalties for meth in Texas?

Texas categorizes drug crimes based on the seriousness of the drug involved, with greater penalties going to the drugs deemed more serious. In particular, methamphetamines are categorized as Penalty Group 1.

Within Penalty Group 1, the state divides the various crimes and penalties based on weight. So, for a larger weight of a drug involved, the state imposes greater penalties.

There are two basic categories of drug crimes in Texas. These involve simple possession and the manufacture, delivery and possession with intent to deliver.

The legal penalties vary in severity based on weight in grams. They are broken down in the following ways:

  • Less than a gram: Although less than one gram of meth might seem like a minor crime, the penalties are serious. For possessing less than a gram, you could face anywhere from 180 days to two years in jail.
  • Between one and four grams: For a conviction of simple possession or delivery of between one and four grams of meth, you could face no less than two years of incarceration. Meanwhile the maximum sentence for simple possession is 10 years in prison and 20 for delivery.
  • Between four grams and 200 grams: For simple possession, this crime brings a prison sentence of between two and 20 years. Delivery of this amount is a first-degree felony, which means a sentence between five years and life.
  • Between 200 and 400 grams: Texas categorizes simple possession of this amount as a first-degree felony that brings no less than five years and a possible life sentence. For delivery of this amount, you could face no less than 10 years in prison and possibly life behind bars.
  • More than 400 grams: A conviction for more than 400 grams will bring a minimum of 10 years in prison (simple possession) or 15 years (delivery), and a maximum of a life sentence.

All the crimes listed above – even simple possession of less than a gram of meth – are considered felonies. Anything less than 400 grams can result in a $10,000 fine, while 400 grams or more can bring about $100,000 in fines.

Any drug crime involving methamphetamines is a serious crime in Texas. If you are accused of a meth crime, it is critical you find aggressive legal representation to fight these charges.  A conviction and full sentencing could be catastrophic for your life and your future.