Drug possession charges are always serious, even if you have not prior record and you are accused of possessing a small amount. The consequences of a conviction or guilty plea can take away your freedom, cost you thousands of dollars and leave you with a criminal record.
Texas has tough sentences connected to drug possession charges. The lightest possible possession charge is a Class B Misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to 180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. A Class A Misdemeanor conviction can result in up to a year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
Harsh sentences for minor marijuana possession
However, if marijuana is the drug you are convicted of possessing, the penalties can be especially harsh. Even a conviction of possessing less than two ounces of marijuana carries a fine of up to $10,000 and/or jail time. Meanwhile, a felony conviction for possessing up to 2,000 pounds of marijuana carries a potential life sentence or 99-year term as a first-degree felony.
For any drug, even the lowest felony charge carries a jail sentence of up to two years. A conviction for a third- or second-degree felony can mean a prison sentence of up to 10 or 20 years, respectively. And these are just for state-level charges in Texas. All federal charges are felony-level and carry heavy punishments.
The prosecutor is not your friend
Whether you are facing felony or misdemeanor charges, you need to know where you stand and what your options are. The prosecution’s job is to push you to plead guilty and avoid trial if possible. The prosecutor is not on your side. Your criminal defense attorney is. They will go over your case with you and help you assert your rights to fight against an unjust conviction.