Cocaine is a highly addictive drug, and this is why it has been made illegal under federal law. If you were found to be in the possession of cocaine in the state of Texas, it is important that you understand both the federal and state laws on cocaine. By doing so, you will be prepared to adequately defend yourself.
The severity of the consequences for having cocaine on your possession will depend largely on the amount of the drug that you were found to have. The amount found can also change your charge from a drug possession charge to a drug sales charge based on the assumption that you were selling the drug.
Federal cocaine drug penalties
If you are found to have 500 grams or more of cocaine on your possession, you will be subject to federal laws. Federal law states that if between 500 grams and 4,999 grams of cocaine is found, the possessor should face between five and 40 years in prison. The possessor may also be subject to a fine of up to $2 million.
If more than 5 kilograms of the drug is found in the possession of a person, they will be subject to a minimum of 10 years in prison. The possessor will be subject to a minimum of 20 years in prison if the drug caused injury or death as a result. They will also be subject to a fine of up to $4 million.
If you are found to be in the possession of cocaine in the state of Texas, you may be subject to federal laws, but state laws will also apply. It is important that you understand exactly how the law will apply to you.